Distinguished Service to British Sociology Award

About the Award

This prestigious award is judged on service to British sociology and awarded to the outstanding individual who has contributed most to the discipline by leading an extraordinary life as a sociologist.

The award is open to all BSA members and the winner will be presented with the award by the BSA President at the Annual Conference in April.

Call for Nominations

We are now inviting nominations for the Distinguished Service to British Sociology Award 2019.

If you wish to nominate someone for this award, please send a completed nomination form to Margaret Luke.

Please note that anyone you wish to nominate must be a fully-paid up member of the BSA.

The deadline for nominations is Thursday, 31 January 2019.

2018 Winner: Professor John Solomos

An expert on race, ethnicity and multiculturalism, Professor John Solomos, was awarded the 2018 Distinguished Service to British Sociology Award.

Professor Solomos, of the University of Warwick, was given the award at the British Sociological Association’s annual conference at Northumbria University in Newcastle.

He received the award, given each year by the BSA to an outstanding individual who has contributed greatly to the discipline, from the BSA President, Professor Susan Halford.

She said Professor Solomos was “a leader in his field – a field that he has been active in building” having published 35 books during his career. He had been head of department at three universities.

He also had “an enviable reputation as a teacher and mentor” known for “his thoughtfulness and care” towards colleagues, she said.

Professor Solomos said he was grateful to the teachers at his school who encouraged him to go to university, and to colleagues. “In receiving this I am proud of the British Sociological Association and the work I have done for the BSA, for longer than I can remember.”

Professor Solomos began his academic career at the universities of Aston and Warwick before working at Birkbeck College, the University of Southampton, London South Bank University, and City University London.

He has served on the Economic and Social Research Council’s Strategic Research Board, and has acted as a specialist advisor for the Academy of Finland and the Swedish Council for Working Life and Social Research.

His main areas of research are the sociology of race and ethnicity, racism and anti-racism, political mobilisation and multiculturalism.

His recent books include Race, Multiculture and Social Policy (co-author with Alice Bloch and Sarah Neal, 2013) and Transnational Families: Ethnicities, Identities and Social Capital (co-author with Harry Goulbourne, Tracey Reynolds, and Elisabetta Zontini, 2010).

Past Winners

  • 2017 - Professor Sara Arber
  • 2016 - Professor David Morgan
  • 2015 - Professor John Eldridge
  • 2014 - Professor John Scott
  • 2013 - Sara Delamont
  • 2012 Inaugural Award - Professor Jennifer Platt